Living Wage Champion Awards 2016

Winner announced!

The Living Wage Champion Awards celebrate individuals and organisations that have made a real difference by supporting the Living Wage movement.

The Awards celebrate accredited Living Wage Employers, Recognised Service Providers or individuals who have made an outstanding contribution to the campaign. The Awards have been judged by an independent panel of leaders from the campaign. 

In 2016 there are Employer Champions for each region of the UK, as well as - for the first time ever -Anniversary Awards; special commendations for individuals that have shown great leadership over a length of time.

And the winners are:

1. Champion Awards

These awards celebrate the organisations that have done the most to implement, promote and celebrate the Living Wage in their regions during 2016.

The winners for 2016 are:

  • The Workplace Depot (East Midlands)
  • Cambridge City Council (East of England)
  • Penrose Care (London)
  • Children North East (North East)
  • IKEA (North West)
  • Belfast Cleaning Society (Northern Ireland)
  • CalMac Ferries Limited (Scotland)
  • COOK (South East)
  • Axminster Tool Centre Ltd (South West)
  • FITM8 (Wales)
  • allpay (West Midlands)
  • Winder Power Limited (Yorkshire and the Humber)

Shortlisted Employer Champions

The judges also shortlisted the organisations in each region who were commended for their commitment to the Living Wage.

  • Abellio ScotRail (Scotland)
  • Accent Press (Wales)
  • ArtHouse (London)
  • B&CE (South East)
  • Birmingham City Council (West Midlands)
  • Burns Pet Nutrition (Wales)
  • Callander Youth Project Trust (Scotland)
  • Cannon & Cannon Fine Foods Ltd (London)
  • Cause4 Ltd (London)
  • Children North East (North East)
  • City of Cardiff Council (Wales)
  • Deveron Dental Centre (Scotland)
  • Facilicom Cleaning Services (South East)
  • Global Support Services (UK) Ltd (North West)
  • High Access Maintenance Ltd (North West)
  • KCLS Ltd t/a ServiceMaster (West Midlands)
  • Middleton Hall Retirement Village (North East)
  • North Kesteven District Council (East Midlands)
  • Northumbria Police (North East)
  • Oliver Bonas Ltd (London)
  • Oxford University Student Union (South East)
  • Parkfoot Garage (South East)
  • RehabWorks Ltd (East of England)
  • The Cambridge Organic Food Co. (East of England)
  • Unlimited Potential (North West)
  • Warmworks Scotland (Scotland)

2. Anniversary Awards 

To celebrate the 5-year anniversary of the Living Wage Foundation, we are giving out three special awards for remarkable individuals that have led the way on the Living Wage nationally for a length of five, ten or fifteen years. 

The judges commended the outstanding leadership of the winners for raising awareness of the Living Wage, making the Living Wage a reality for others and for encouraging organisations to adopt the Living Wage.

The Anniversary Award winners are:

  • 5 Year Anniversary Award: Dr Tim Hall, University of East London
  • 10 Year Anniversary Award: Mike Kelly
  • 15 Year Anniversary Award: Professor Jane Wills, Queen Mary University of London
  • We are also delighted to award KPMG with a Special Commendation for outstanding contribution to the Living Wage campaign.